(released December 22, 2016)
PRESS RELEASE PRESS RELEASE
Renovated Museum Highlights
Contributions of Individuals from a Local to Global Level
Opening Date: Saturday January 7, 2017 from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Oldham County History Center
108 N. Second Ave., La Grange, Ky 40031
When the newly $1.4 million renovated Head History Museum opens, visitors will learn about the unique accomplishments of local citizens that highlight Oldham County’s contribution to American history. Part of this contribution includes the latest addition of the Oldham County Historical Society to the National Park Service National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom as both a site and facility. “We incorporated this special recognition in our exhibits so people can actually experience the impact of the Underground Railroad on not only in our local history but nationally as well. We lift up many of the unknown freedom seekers whose sacrifices underscore the democratic freedoms of our country that so many take for granted,” stated Nancy Theiss, Executive Director of the Oldham County Historical Society.
“Our history center is unique in this designation from the National Park Service National Underground Railroad program because we are the only museum in Kentucky with both a site and facility designation. We will be offering Junior Ranger Programs on archaeology and the Underground Railroad. In addition we can now offer two special stamps for visitors who participate in the National Park Service Passport program”, according to Theiss.
The Peyton Samuel Head Family Museum, located on the Oldham County History Center campus in La Grange, will reopen on Saturday, January 7, 2017. A special ribbon cutting ceremony will be held at 10 a.m. at the museum, located at 108 N. Second Ave. Several county officials are expected to be in attendance.
Unique features of the exhibit include an entrance graphic by local artist Richard Luce commissioned by Oldham County Fiscal Court, that highlights the first step of frontiersman off their flatboats from the Ohio River onto Oldham County soil. The entrance exhibit features the culture along the Ohio River during the 19th Century as the river evolves into a borderland for freedom seekers escaping the chains of slavery.
Another unique exhibit in the museum includes a specially designed exhibit by the Kentucky State Reformatory (KSR). Both inmates and staff have designed interactive interpretations of how KSR has changed lives and influenced the community since its opening in 1939. Inmates have designed and created teddy bears that will be given to the first 200 visitors, ages 17 and under, on opening day.
The Oldham County Historical Society campus and the three buildings it houses – J.C. Barnett Library & Archives, Peyton Samuel Head Family Museum and the Rob Morris Educational Building – are all included in a $2 million renovation project begun in 2014. About $1.4 million has been raised so far. Renovation work began with the museum, which dates to 1840. The house received a complete overhall, inside and out. Terri Miller, Renovation Campaign Chairperson said, “the exhibits are really exciting in that they are going to better interpret our history and bring it to life with the addition of sound and videos.”
Teddy Bears created by the inmates at KSR will be given away on opening day to visitors- limit one per family.
2017 hours are: Tuesday – Saturday, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.; Sundays Noon – 4 p.m. Admission charge is $8 for adults; $6 for Veterans, seniors (60 and over) and children/students with a college ID. Children 4 and under are free. A paid membership to the Oldham County Historical Society will include free admission. For more information contact the Oldham County Historical Society at 502.222.0826.
Oldham County Historical Society
106 North Second Ave.
La Grange, KY 40031
Like us on Facebook.